Daily Archives: December 10, 2009

Rosamund Cardigan

ROSAMUND CARDIGAN
My Notes:
Yarn: Berroco Mahogany Mix 6280
CMahoga
Cast on 176 for a size 38.
The yarn is do die for. Just enough to keep me toasty warm this winter and let those cables stand out, yet soft enough to be worn over a light t-shirt.

12.04.09
First run on complete set of cables was a bust. I must of miscounted a row and therefore my cables were off. Yikes! Time to cast on again.

12.09.09
Cast on take 2. I did a cable cast on for a sturdier and flattering edge line. I am noticing some of the cable cast on is not looped properly. Looks like an incomplete stitch but it is not raveling. This is in 2 spots, so I popped on a locking stitch marker to secure and will need to weave in some yarn to secure this. Lucky for me that the first row after the cast on was the cable row, so with the bunching of the cable nestled in the cast on row, I can fudge and secure my mishap without having to cast on yet again. Dang, I hate when I fudge it!! I got the cast on completed and am through first row of cables. Measures at about 1 ¼”, so I will get another row of cables to make 1 ½”. So far things are lining up perfectly. I was a bit worried that at the end of the cable row that there was not enough to finish the LC or the RC, (there were only 4 stitches left) but ended with a k1 p1 (twice). I am thinking that this will be the base to attach the buttons when ready (although the pattern doesn’t indicate this). I will plod on and pray that this works out for me. I like patterns that are detailed line for line, but this is one of the things I am learning to look for before I choose a new project. Either that or I will do what I did with this pattern, read and study the pattern for a good solid week and then re-write it so it makes sense to me. Ok, enough bitching. I am enjoying knitting this, and that is the point right? 

1.30.09
A finished object!!! 
Loved knitting this cardigan dearly. 
Enough sappiness!  Here are the photos (minus buttons…still looking).